Deprecated: Non-static method Linkage::usage() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/queensla/public_html/system/plugins/pi.linkage.php on line 10

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /home/queensla/public_html/system/modules/weblog/mod.weblog.php on line 5043
Jim Atkins - Queensland History of Racing

Queensland History of Racing

Share |

Jim Atkins

The Basics

Categories: Trainers
Region: South East Queensland


amby's love, dalrello, grey affair, pay the purple, prince ruling, toowoomba

Jim Atkins was originally from the northern rivers where in the 1930s he cut his teeth leading his father's stallion from property to property to serve mares. He trained his first winner in 1936 and moved to Brisbane in the early 1940s where he had a good horse called Yeoman.Jim Atkins

Atkins had a stint in the army and then on his discharge moved to Toowoomba where he ruled for half a century. He was a great trainer of all horses, but in particular stayers, winning every major staying race in the Brisbane area except a QTC Oaks - a race in which he had seven minor placegetters. He won the Brisbane premiership four times.

His best horses wins included Amby's Love (QTC Derby, Cumberland Cup, Toowoomba Cup, Exhibition Handicap [2], Gold Coast Cup, Barnes Plate), Buon Giorno (Tattersall's Cup, Labor Day Cup), Belle of Burgundy (Koomeela Stakes), Bonne Princess (Courier-Mail Classic), Bunkers (Koomeela Stakes), Dalrello (AJC Doncaster, AJC Craven Plate, QTC Claret Stakes, QTC Guineas, BATC Koomeela Stakes, QTC Sapphire Bracelet, BTC Newmarket, Appollo Stakes, AJC All Aged Stakes [2], QTC Lightning), Diego (TTC Weetwood), Easy Now (Queensland Cup), Flying Creole (QTC Bribie Handicap, Windsor Flying [now QTC Cup], BTC Booroolong Stakes, QTC Rocket Stakes), Gad's Hill (Ken Russell Memorial), Grey Affair (AJC Chipping Norton Stakes, Brisbane Cup, Doomben Cup, Queensland Cup, Moreton Handicap, QTC Frazer Handicap), Grey Colnik (Easter Cup), Gentle Jim (QTC Guineas, BTC Koomeela Stakes, Brisbane Handicap, STC Darby Munro Handicap), Grand Topic (Healy Stakes, QTC Toorak Handicap), Intrepid Clipper (QTC Derby, McDougall Stakes), Just Now (AJC Oaks, AJC Princess Stakes, VRC Turnbull Stakes, QTC Ascot Handicap), Lord Kearsey (QTC Guineas), Licencioso (Recognition Stakes), Mr Cromwell (QTC Derby, Grand Prix, VRC Dalgety Handicap), Master Avon (BTC Invitation Stakes), Prince Ruling (STC Ryder Stakes, STC Tulloch Stakes, VRC Linlithgow Stakes), Pay the Purple (Labor Day Cup), Prince Anton (Coca Cola Stakes, Ascot Handicap), Proctors Gold (BTC Newmarket, QTC Lilley Handicap), Rock Show (Tattersall's Cup, Easter Cup, Caloundra Cup), Rhalif (STC Manion Cup, Labor Day Cup, Spring Cup, QTC Frazer Handicap) Sun and Sand (Bernborough Handicap), Star of Kashmir (BTC Uhr Quality), Setaria (Frazer Handicap), Solar Circle (Caloundra Cup, Toowoomba Cup), Sovereign Chief (Lord Mayor's Cup [2], Brisbane Handicap, XXXX Mile), Sumarco (Albion 2000 [2], City Handicap, QTC Toorak Handicap), Tristram's Edition (Castlemaine Stakes) and Wild Irish Rose (Koomeela Stakes).