Queensland History of Racing


Race clubs play a vital part in sustaining racing now and throughout its history in Queensland and the details of our great current and past clubs are captured here.

If you or a family member have information on a race club you'd like to contribute we would love to include it.

A - Z

  1. Augathella Race Club
  2. Beaudesert Hibernian Race Club
  3. Beaudesert Race Club
  4. Bell Race Club
  5. Bluff-Blackwater Amateur Race Club Inc
  6. Brisbane Racing Club
  7. Bundaberg Race Club
  8. Burrandowan Picnic Race Club
  9. Calliope Jockey Club
  10. Camooweal Jockey Club
  11. Central Queensland Amateur Racing Club
  12. Central Warrego Race Club
  13. Chinchilla Race Club
  14. Clermont Race Club Inc
  15. Clifton Jockey Club
  16. Cunnamulla & District Diggers’ Race Club
  17. Dalby & Northern Downs Jockey Club
  18. Dalby Amateur Picnic Race Club
  19. Dawson Jockey Club
  20. Dingo Race Club
  21. Eidsvold Race Club
  22. Emerald Jockey Club Inc
  23. Eromanga Amateur Race Club
  24. Esk Jockey Club
  25. Far North Queensland Amateur Turf Club
  26. Flinton Race Club
  27. Gayndah Jockey Club
  28. Gladstone Turf Club Inc
  29. Gold Coast Turf Club
  30. Goondiwindi & McIntyre Picnic Race Club Inc
  31. Goondiwindi Race Club
  32. Gympie Turf Club
  33. Injune Race Club
  34. Ipswich Turf Club
  35. Jandowae Race Club
  36. Kilcoy Racing Club Inc.
  37. Kumbia Race Club
  38. Lions Club Of Blackwater Race Club
  39. Lockyer Race Club
  40. Mackay Amateur Race Club
  41. Mackay Turf Club
  42. Mackenzie River Amateur Picnic Race Club Inc
  43. Maranoa Diggers’ Race Club
  44. Middlemount Race Club Inc
  45. Miles & District Amateur Picnic Race Club
  46. Monto Race Club Inc
  47. Morven Race Club
  48. Mount Perry Race Club
  49. Nanango Race Club
  50. Noorama Picnic Race Club
  51. North Queensland Amateur Turf Club
  52. Oak Park Race Club
  53. Oakey & District Race Club Inc.
  54. Peak Downs Amateur Race Club Inc
  55. Quilpie Diggers’ Race Club
  56. Ridgelands Race Club Inc
  57. Rockhampton Jockey Club Inc
  58. Rockhampton St Patrick’s Day Race Club
  59. Rockhampton Tattersall’s Race Club
  60. Roma Picnic Race Club
  61. Roma Turf Club
  62. South Burnett Race Club
  63. Springsure Jockey Club
  64. Springsure St Patrick’s Day Race Club
  65. St George Jockey Club
  66. Stanthorpe Jockey Club
  67. Sunshine Coast Turf Club
  68. Surat Diggers’ Race Club
  69. Talwood Race Club
  70. Tara Race Club
  71. Tattersall’s Racing Club
  72. Texas Jockey Club
  73. Thangool Race Club Inc
  74. Toowoomba Turf Club
  75. Townsville Turf Club
  76. Townsville Turf Club
  77. Wandoan Diggers’ Race Club
  78. Warra Race Club
  79. Warwick Picnic Race Club
  80. Warwick Turf Club
  81. Yeppoon Turf Club Inc.

Recently added clubs

Toowoomba Turf Club

n 1882, Toowoomba Turf Club was formed and conducted its first meetings on 3 & 4 June that year. The first recorded running of the now time-honoured Weetwood Handicap was in 1989 when it was won by Lord Rosebery. The first recorded Toowoomba Cup as run in 1919.